Talk about your truck here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

LesBerg
PVT
PVT

New member, soon-to-be-owner...

Post by LesBerg »

Good morning, everyone!

I was going to say "I am seriously considering buying an M43 I found with no power train or rims." if I can find rims for it, but I'm sure I'm going to do it anyway. :D

That said, does anyone know if there's a source for them in the Pacific Northwest?

It's fairly complete otherwise and seems to only have had a few modifications. Gages, sheetmetal, axles, interior - it's all there, and the scrapyard owner is a Mopar fan. He's willing and eager to trade it for a 1974 Dart Sport / 71 Demon clone project car that hasn't seen a wrench in fifteen years.

I don't know how I'll power it yet. I'm open to suggestions..

I'm new to the M43s, but not vintage vehicles. I've got a 1948 Willys CJ2A and a 1954 GMC PD4104 Greyhound bus.

I'll post pictures as soon as I can.

Thanks,
Les
CSCameron
PFC
PFC

Re: New member, soon-to-be-owner...

Post by CSCameron »

Welcome! You've opened a can of worms here, "no drive train or rims". Do you plan to restore it back to original, or go in another direction? We'll need more information!

Clark
LesBerg
PVT
PVT

Post by LesBerg »

I'm thinking 'Original within reason'

It turns out that it still has the transfer case.

Whether I go back to the original power plant will depend a lot on what it would cost, and parts availability. Generally speaking, I'm not a fan of the 'stuff a V8 in it' thing. I won't repower with anything that would involve cutting original metal.