Electric wiper motors

Discuss fixes, upgrades and modifications to your M37

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

Wes
PVT
PVT

Electric wiper motors

Post by Wes »

Let me start by saying I hate air powered wiper motors. I am a locomotive engineer and even in the most modern computer controlled locomotives have these crappy air powered wipers. My engine produces enough electricity to power a small city but some genius decided it would be a great idea to stick with 1950's technology for the wipers. Anyway, I want to swap out the wipers on my M-37 for electric but I want them to look correct. Any suggestions?
Wes
powerwagontim
SFC
SFC

Re: Electric wiper motors

Post by powerwagontim »

Hi Wes,
I have a set of new 24 volt wipers for an M37 that I wont be using. PM me if you are interested in them.
Thanks,
Tim
Happiness is enjoying what you already have!
8543bob
SSGT
SSGT

Post by 8543bob »

Good morning,
I removed the original wiper motors and have yet to replace them. I dont use the M in the rain and if I did I have cleand the glass with RAINX, works great. Marine supply dealers carry wiper motors in 12, 24 and 32 volts, self parking, etc. Ck out West Marine or a good marine hardware store.
GOOD LUCK BOB
cuz
1SG
1SG

Post by cuz »

To answer your question I know of no supplier of electric wiper motors that will have the appearance of the original vacuum wipers motors on your M37. There are existing surplus M151A3 and Heavy M series truck 24 V electric wiper motors out there.
Wes K
wsknettl@centurytel.net

54 M37, 66 M101, 45MB, 51 M38, 60 CJ5, 46 T3-C
MVPA 22099

Disclaimer: Any data posted is for general info only and may not be M37 specific or meet with the approval of some esteemed gurus.
m-37Bruce
1SG
1SG

Post by m-37Bruce »

Have you checked out Cabel Garbee' page, he has done a good to fair job w/electric wypers? http://www.garbee.net/~cabell/electricwipers.htm
Also try Charles at m-series rebuild.
Bruce,

1953 M-37 w/ow

Retired Again