M37 or M715??

Talk about your truck here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

b78
PVT
PVT

M37 or M715??

Post by b78 »

:D Hi I m Baios from Greece!!!I m also in the G838 forum and G503 because I have a M151A2!!!!I want to help me recording which of them above (M37 or M715) must buy and why????I find a guy that has both of them in good condition and sells them ...so I m a little confused!!They have the same engine?????which one is tough or fuel economy????Thanks :wink:
Nickathome
1SG
1SG

M37 or 715

Post by Nickathome »

I'm no expert but I'm sure most here will tell you if you have the choice, go with the M37. Neither will win any fuel economy prizes, I can maybe see the 715 getting the nod slightly but the M37 from all I've read and heard is the better of the two vehicles.

The M715 had a V8 engine I think, and not a very good one. The M37 has a 230 flathead straight six, so if they both have the same engine, then one of them is incorrect.......
WarrenD
SSGT
SSGT

Post by WarrenD »

I think a lot depends on what you want. Are you trying to collect from a certain time period or place? Researching a time and/or place will tell you more about which vehicle may have been in use and for what purpose. If you are going by fuel economy, I'd guess neither one is going to do very well by today's standards.
Personally, I like the look of the M-37 better, it has a distinctive military look whereas the M715 looks like civilian Jeeps I remember seeing growing up.
xm708
SSGT
SSGT

m37/m715

Post by xm708 »

Both the m37 and the M715 had inline 6 cylinders. I believe they are both 230 cubic inch. The jeep was a "Tornado" engine with overhead cam and the m37 has a 230 flat head engine. I have never owned an m715 but have heard the storys of the engines never being that great. I am partial to the m37 as I have had a couple of them and love them.
anthony manzella
SSGT
SSGT

M 37

Post by anthony manzella »