Talk about your truck here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

ashyers
MSGT
MSGT

Introduction, Just jumped in!

Post by ashyers »

Hello,
I've just purchased an M37 and joined the group. I've like them since I was a kid and admired the brush trucks at the local fire station. Seems having a break over the holidays and access to craigslist leads to all kinds of new projects! I'm a high school auto instructor and I thought it would be fun to work with my students on something different. We picked up the truck Sunday and have been busy working on it since. It is complete, rust free, running, mostly unmolested, but it sat for a decade and is a long way from a driver. We have our work cut out for us! So far we've put the truck on the rack and we're busy using the Operation and Organizational Maintenance Manual from 5/55 to sort out the brakes and a few other bits so it's safe to move the truck around the Shop. The goal is to turn the truck into a reliable driver that's clean and functional. No fancy engine swaps or anything, just a good honest M37. The students are really enjoying the experience, except for the spiders and layers of cement like mud caked on the underbelly of the truck!

I did have some questions for the group related to information and vendors.
1) What are the best manuals to have on hand for dealing with this truck and were do I find them? We will probably be into the entire truck and the manual we have is excellent, but lacks depth.
2) Which vendors are most supportive to the M37 crowd?
3) Is there a vendor that handles engine components? We may rebuild the motor down the road and I need to start preparing.

I'm sure I'll have tons of questions as we get deeper into the project! So far I'm really enthused, it's been fun to work on something totally different, and I get to use all of those big sockets for a change! Back to studying my manual...

Andy
Cal_Gary

Re: Introduction, Just jumped in!

Post by Cal_Gary »