The TRUTH - as told by Hollywood

Discuss all non M37 related issues here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

Paul in Kempner, TX
PFC
PFC

The TRUTH - as told by Hollywood

Post by Paul in Kempner, TX »

The other day I watched the movie, "Strategic Air Command" with General Jimmie Stewart and June Allison. The movie was made in 1955, the year I graduated from High School. Although I have seen it many times, I decided to watch it again to see how accurately Hollywood got the details.

I grew up a few miles from a SAC base - Patterson Field, Ohio. In fact my Dad worked “at the Field” during “the War” on the Norden Bombsight. Having attended many “Open House” events where the public was allowed access, I was familiar with the typical SAC security procedures. I attended one event soon after the end of the War while it was still the U.S.Army Air Force and have a picture of me standing next to the main landing gear of the B-19.

I was not surprised at the level of propaganda in the film. Propaganda was a common aspect of many Hollywood films during the War years. I am still amazed by the apparent unlimited access the film crews had - until I see how carefully the film was scripted as both a USAF recruiting film and an anti-Soviet message. How amazing it must have been to have the movie guys pushing for access to some scenes to “give the movie more credibility” even though their actions stretched the limits of security policy.

In addition to watching the trade-offs of security for the recruiting and propaganda messages, I also was interested to find the answer to the endless questions on this Forum about the paint color for M37's of the USAF.