Discuss fixes, upgrades and modifications to your M37

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

GregL
PFC
PFC

Clutch & Oil Drain Plug question

Post by GregL »

Hi guys,

This is actually my second post, but I'm still a newbie (and learning), I've only had my rig for a month, but I love it!

After gathering all my maintenance manuals, a new oil filter and gasket (which I didn't know NAPA had until tonight), and an oil drain pan (cuz I haven't changed oil in many years, it's no fun on new cars), I was ready! After reading here about using a 1/2" drive socket wrench to get the plug off, I had my oil draining! But isn't there supposed to be a gasket on the drain plug? Are they available?

Even worse, though, the big round thing with a drain plug just to the rear of the oil pan (clutch, right?) had NO plug at all!!! I have no idea how long it's been that way, but I've been driving it for the last few days and everything seemed OK, must be one tough box! I noticed that the plug threads are the same for the oil pan and the clutch, are the plugs (and gaskets) available anywhere?

Thanks, you guys are a wealth of info!
Lifer
1SG
1SG

Post by Lifer »

The "big round thing behind the oil pan" is your clutch housing. The threaded hole is for installing a fording plug. It is only used when fording. You wouldn't want to get your clutch soaked, would you? Otherwise, it is properly stored in the glove compartment. :)
"PER ARDUA AD ITER"
GregL
PFC
PFC

Post by GregL »

OK, ignorant question coming... I'm not a complete idiot, but I don't work on vehicles a lot. Do you mean that the clutch housing is supposed to have an open hole in the bottom?
Carter
1SG
1SG

Post by Carter »

GregL wrote:OK, ignorant question coming... I'm not a complete idiot, but I don't work on vehicles a lot. Do you mean that the clutch housing is supposed to have an open hole in the bottom?