Carburetor Rebuild Help - won't idle after rebuild

Talk about your truck here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

rick3216
PVT
PVT

Carburetor Rebuild Help - won't idle after rebuild

Post by rick3216 »

Here's the story on my all stock 1954 M37 which was running just fine. Compression tests recently range from 95 - 102 psi, not great but has run fine.

1. Tune-up done with new cap, condenser, rotor and points was completed and truck ran great - better than before

2. 20 miles post tune-up and I'm driving along and engine starts to sputter - seems like fuel starvation. Stopped engine for a minute and it started right up and ran fine for 20 seconds and then engine sputters again. Got it to my garage and now truck will not start at all. Had to push it into the garage.

3. Checked mechanical fuel pump - pumps well

4. Must be carb, been wanting to rebuild it anyway, so I order rebuild kit and tear into it. I have 40 years experience of rebuilding motorcycle carbs and I have the TM for M37 carb so I felt comfortable. All seemed to go well accept the accelerator leather plunger is very stiff in the bore compared to the old plunger that I removed which had zero resistance. I sanded the leather on the new plunger with fine sandpaper until the resistance was light, re-oiled and installed it.

5. Install newly rebuilt carb - truck won't start at all. Plugs are wet and I smell gas so I check for spark and I have no spark.

6. Re-installed old condenser and truck starts immediately but will not idle unless it is partly choked

7. Go to internet and everyone says vaccum leak. Check everywhere for vaccum leak - nothing. Checked with propane torch and starting fluid - still nothing.