51' Maine M-37

Build and Restoration Threads Belong Here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

CAM
PVT
PVT

51' Maine M-37

Post by CAM »

I finally had the time to post some pics of my M in progress, first to let you guys know about the truck and my plans. The truck is in decent shape rust wise, I think that is because after the military it was put into fire dept use, matter of fact the red paint with yellow numbers shows thru the last paint job. Mechanically the truck is about wore out, the odometer shows 40500 miles, brakes are non-existent, broken rear axle, no wiring at all . It appears to me that the military carb, fuel pump, distributor, starter and generator have all been changed out for industrial 12 volt replacement parts. At this time I have a new master cylinder and all new wheel cylinders, and a wiring harness from Keep it clean, and a summit racing 100 amp black powder coated alternator ready to be installed. I think I will replace all the brake lines and fuel lines with copper nickle, I am at this point stuck trying to get the steering wheel off so I can remove the cab, at that point I will be left with a rolling chassis with the engine. At the end of March I have a blaster coming to my house to bead blast the frame and underside of the cab and body. So I have a month to get the grease and oil off the truck for him. Hopefully I can get a day that it warms up and I can roll it out in the driveway and pressure wash it.

My plan for this old truck is to leave the paint as is and just get it so I can drive it safely and enjoy it. I will definitely be on here asking questions and bugging you guy about certain parts in the future. At this time I only have Sundays for working on the "M" as I drive a fuel transport truck, and living in Maine that's a full time job in the winter.
Chris Munsey
52PLOWERWAGON
SFC
SFC

Re: 51' Maine M-37

Post by 52PLOWERWAGON »

looks like a nice truck